NewSpace Week on The Space Show


This week on The Space Show with David Livingston…

1. Monday, September 17, 2012, 2-3:30 PM PDT (5-6:30 PM EDT, 4-5:30 PM CDT): DR. BURTON LEE returns as our guest. Dr. Lee will be discussing venture capital industry financing for the developing commercial space industry as he did at the New Space Business Plan Boot Camp session. Please check The Space Show blog prior to the program as I will be uploading Dr. Lee’s Power Point Presentation for our use during the program. You will certainly want to follow along with his slides.

2. Tuesday, Sept. 18 , 2012, 7-8:30 PM PDT (10-11:30 PM EDT, 9-10:30 PM CDT): BOB ZIMMERMAN returns to discuss all that is new, interesting, challenging, developing, and important in the space world and industry.

3. Friday, Sept. 21, 2012, 9:30-11 AM PDT (11:30- 1 PM CDT, 12:30PM-2:00 PM EDT): BRIAN MOSDELL, Director of the Florida Launch Operations for SpaceX returns as our guest for this program.

4. Sunday, Sept. 23 2012, 12-1:30 PM PDT (3-4:30 PM EDT, 2-3:30 PM CDT). We welcome back TOM OLSON AND JEFF KRUKIN to discuss the new Exodus Consulting for the commercial and NewSpace industry. Jeff and Tom provided us with this quote regarding Exodus Consulting: “We established Exodus because our passion for extending the human economy into space compels us to help others who share that passion. And our passion for helping entrepreneurs and businesses grow is equally powerful! To this end, we seek entrepreneurs and firms developing technology, products and services for use in space. These could also be space-related, such as power systems, bio-regenerative systems, tourism, media, software and other supportive solutions. Space-scalable© (1) is another category that excites us.”

This Week in Space to Feature Burton Lee, Ralph McNutt

Monday, July 12, 2010: 2-3:30 PM PDT: We welcome Dr. Mark Lewis and Dr. C. F. Lance Chenault to discuss the upcoming AIAA Joint Propulsion Conference. Not only will be discussing the upcoming conference but also advanced propulsion possibilities.

Tuesday, July 13, 2010, 7-8:30 PM PDT: We welcome back Dr. Burton Lee. Burton will discuss the newly announced European Commission Space Research Program, which is now actively seeking US companies and universities for participation and funding. Based in Brussels, Belgium, the EC is a new player on the international space scene, and should not be confused with the European Space Agency (ESA), which is a completely separate program, budget and organization. Dr Lee will be hosting the European Commission at Stanford on Wed July 21 for an open information session on how US space firms and university researchers can apply for EC grant funds in the following areas: Cubesats, space transportation and propulsion systems, robotic exploration technologies and Near Earth Objects (NEOs)”.

Thursday, July 15, 7-8:30 PM PDT: We welcome Dr. Ralph McNutt, Jr. to the program. Dr. McNutt, Jr. is a Physicist and a member of the Principal Professional Staff of The Johns Hopkins University Applied Physics Laboratory. Topics for discussion include Radioisotope Power Systems, i.e. the plutonium power sources used on numerous American spacecraft such as Voyager, Cassini, New Horizons, & Messenger. Also interstellar probes.

Friday, July 16 , 2010: 9:30-11:00 AM PDT: We welcome Dr. Pat Patterson and Niel Holt, the new director of the Space Dynamics Lab at Utah State University. We will be discussing the upcoming SmallSat Conference in Logan, Utah.

CLASSROOM: Sunday, July 18 , 2010. 12-1:30 PM PDT: The Space Show Classroom holds its final program for this season as we summarize our Classroom content from t this year. Co-hosts Dr. Jurist and Dr. Logan will be summarizing the program with me.