Webb Launch Confirmed for 24 December

The James Webb Space Telescope is fueled for flight. (Credit: ESA/CNES/Arianespace)

KOUROU, French Guiana (ESA PR) — The James Webb Space Telescope is confirmed for the target launch date of 24 December, at 12:20 GMT / 13:20 CET [7:20 am. EST].

Late yesterday, teams at the launch site successfully completed encapsulation of the observatory inside the Ariane 5 rocket that will launch it to space. Webb’s launch final readiness review will be held on Tuesday 21 December and, if successful, roll-out is planned for Wednesday 22 December.