Schedule for Upcoming Launches

Electron rocket lifts off on Jan. 31, 2020. (Credit: Rocket Lab)

The week ahead features launches by Rocket Lab and SpaceX, Vega’s first rideshare mission, two Chinese launches, and a Japanese sounding rocket flight.

JUNE 12-13

Launch Vehicle: Momo-F5
Launch Window: 0200-0320 GMT on June 13 (10:00 — 11:20 p.m. EDT on June 12)
Launch Site: Taiki Aerospace Research Field
Webcast: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=88yBalrZp-U&feature=youtu.be

Interstellar Technologies will launch its Momo suborbital sounding rocket for the fifth time.

UPDATE: Scrubbed due to high level winds. Aiming to launch on Sunday, June 14.

JUNE 13

Launch Vehicle: Electron
Payloads: Rideshare — 5 small satellites
Launch Time: 0443 GMT (12:43 a.m. EDT)
Launch Site: Mahia Peninsula, New Zealand
Webcast: www.rocketlabusa.com

Rocket Lab’s 12th Electron launch will carry three satellites for the U.S. National Reconnaissance Office, one satellite for Boston University, and one Australian communications test spacecraft.

UPDATE: Success

Launch Vehicle: Falcon 9
Payloads: 58 Starlink Internet broadband and three Planet SkySat Earth observation satellites
Launch Time: 0921 GMT (5:21 a.m. EDT)
Launch Site:
 Cape Canaveral Air Force Station, Florida
Webcast: www.spacex.com

UPDATE: Success

JUNE 16

Launch Vehicle: Long March 3B
Payload: Beidou navigation satellite
Launch Time: TBD
Launch Site: Xichang Satellite Launch Center, China

JUNE 17

Launch Vehicle: Long March 2D
Payload: Gaofen 9-03 Earth observation satellite
Launch Time: 0725 GMT (3:25 a.m. EDT)
Launch Site: Jiuquan Satellite Launch Center, China

JUNE 18/19

Launch Vehicle: Vega
Payloads: Rideshare mission
Launch Time: 0151 GMT on June 19 (9:51 p.m. EDT on June 18)
Launch Site: Kourou, French Guiana
Webcast: www.esa.int

Vega’s Small Spacecraft Mission Service (SSMS) Proof of Concept will carry about 50 satellites into orbit.