New Crew Launches to International Space Station

The International Space Station as it appears in 2018. Zarya is visible at the center of the complex, identifiable by its partially retracted solar arrays. (Credit: NASA)

BAIKONUR, Kazakhstan (NASA PR) — NASA astronauts Nick Hague and Christina Koch and Russian cosmonaut Alexey Ovchinin are set to join the crew aboard the International Space Station on Thursday, March 14. Liftoff aboard a Soyuz rocket from the Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan was at 3:14 p.m. EDT. Docking coverage begins at 8:45 p.m. EDT on NASA Television.

The trio’s arrival will return the orbiting laboratory’s population to six, including three NASA astronauts. Hague and Ovchinin are completing a journey that was cut short Oct. 11, 2018, when a booster separation problem with their Soyuz rocket’s first stage triggered a launch abort two minutes into the flight.