Rocket Lab Set to Launch First Commercial Electron Mission Tonight

Electron launch (Credit: Rocket Lab)

Rocket Lab is set to launch its first commercial mission from the Mahia Peninsula in New Zealand on Sunday, Nov. 11. The company is currently targeting a liftoff of its Electron rocket at 0350 GMT (10::50 p.m. EST on Saturday). The launch window will stay open until 0700 GMT (2 a.m. EST).

Rocket Lab’s third launch will carry Spire Global and Geo-Optics satellites. In case of a scrub, the company has until Nov. 19 to launch the mission.

Rocket Lab has webcast previous launches at http://www.rocketlabusa.com/.

The flight will be the 90th orbital launch attempt of 2018. It is one of 23 launches scheduled for the rest of the year.

The list below, courtesy of Spaceflightnow.com’s launch schedule, shows the remaining manifest through Dec. 31. The schedule changes frequently, so please check their website regularly for updates.

November 10/11

Launch Vehicle: Electron
Payloads: Spire Global CubeSats & Geo-Optics’ satellite
Launch Window: 10:50 p.m.-2 a.m. EST on 10th/11th (0350-0700 GMT on 11th)
Launch Site: Mahia Peninsula, New Zealand
Webcast: http://www.rocketlabusa.com/

Third launch and first commercial mission for Rocket Lab. Launch window runs until Nov. 19.

November 14

Launch Vehicle: GSLV Mk.3
Payload: GSAT 29 communications satellite
Launch Time: TBA
Launch Site: Satish Dhawan Space Center, Sriharikota, India
Webcast: https://www.isro.gov.in/

November 15

Launch Vehicle: Antares
Payload: NG-10 Cygnus International Space Statoin resupply mission
Launch Time: 4:49 a.m. EST (0949 GMT)
Launch Site: Mid-Atlantic Regional Spaceport, Wallops Island, Virginia
Webcast: http://www.nasa.gov

Launch Vehicle: Falcon 9
Payload: Es’hail 2 communications satellite
Launch Window: 3:46-5:29 p.m. EST (2046-2229 GMT)
Launch Site: Kennedy Space Center, Florida
Webcast: http://www.spacex.com

November 16

Launch Vehicle: Soyuz
Payload: Progress 71P International Space Station resupply mission
Launch Time: 1:14 p.m. EST (1814 GMT)
Launch Site: Baikonur Cosmodrome, Kazakhstan
Webcast: http://www.nasa.gov

November 19

Launch Vehicle: Long March 3B
Payload: 2 Beidou navigation satellites
Launch Time: TBA
Launch Site: Xichang, China

Launch Vehicle: Falcon 9
Payload: Spaceflight, Inc. SSO-A rideshare mission
Launch Time: 1:32 p.m. EST; 10:32 a.m. PST (1832 GMT)
Launch Site: Vandenberg Air Force Base, California
Webcast: http://www.spacex.com

Satellites supplied by nearly 50 government and commercial organizations from 16 countries

November 20/21

Launch Vehicle: Vega
Payload: Mohammed VI-B Earth observation satellite
Launch Time: 8:42 p.m. EST on 20th (0142 GMT on 21st)
Launch Site: Kourou, French Guiana
Webcast: http://www.esa.int

November 26

Launch Vehicle: PSLV
Payload: HySIS hyperspectral imaging satellite
Launch Time: TBA
Launch Site: Satish Dhawan Space Center, Sriharikota, India
Webcast: https://www.isro.gov.in/

November 29

Launch Vehicle: Delta 4-Heavy
Payload: NROL-71 reconnaissance satellite
Launch Time: TBA
Launch Site: Vandenberg Air Force Base, California
Webcast: https://www.ulalaunch.com/

December 3

Launch Vehicle: Soyuz
Payload: ISS 57S Soyuz International Space Station crew flight
Launch Time: 6:31 a.m. EST (1131 GMT)
Launch Site: Baikonur Cosmodrome, Kazakhstan
Webcast: http://www.nasa.gov

December 4

Launch Vehicle: Falcon 9
Payload: SpaceX CRS 16 Dragon International Space Station resupply ship
Launch Time: 1:38 p.m. EST (1838 GMT)
Launch Site: Cape Canaveral Air Force Station, Florida
Webcast: http://www.spacex.com & http://www.nasa.gov

Launch Vehicle: Ariane 5
Payloads: GSAT 11 communications satellite & GEO-Kompsat 2A weather satellite
Launch Time: TBA
Launch Site: Kourou, French Guiana
Webcast: http://www.esa.int

December 8

Launch Vehicle: Long March 3B
Payload: Chang’e 4 lunar lander
Launch Time: TBA
Launch Site: Xichang, China

First attempted landing on the far side of the Moon.

December 15

Launch Vehicle: Falcon 9
Payload: GPS 3-01 navigation satellite
Launch Time: 9:24-9:50 a.m. EST (1424-1450 GMT)
Launch Site: Cape Canaveral Air Force Station, Florida
Webcast: http://www.spacex.com

December 18

Launch Vehicle: Soyuz
Payload: CSO 1 reconnaissance satellite
Launch Time: TBA
Launch Site: Sinnamary, French Guiana
Webcast: http://www.esa.int

December 25

Launch Vehicle: Proton
Payload: Blagovest No. 13L communications satellite
Launch Time: TBA
Launch Site: Baikonur Cosmodrome, Kazakhstan

Launch Vehicle: Soyuz
Payloads: Kanopus-V 5 & 6 Earth observation satellites
Launch Time: TBA
Launch Site: Vostochny Cosmodrome, Russia

December 27

Launch Vehicle: Soyuz
Payload: EgyptSat-A Earth observation satellite
Launch Time: TBA
Launch Site: Baikonur Cosmodrome, Kazakhstan

December 30

Launch Vehicle: Falcon 9
Payload: Iridium Next 66-75 communications satellites
Launch Time: 11:38 a.m. EDT; 8:38 a.m. PST (1638 GMT)
Launch Site: Vandenberg Air Force Base, California
Webcast: http://www.spacex.com

December

Launch Vehicle: Electron
Payloads: 10 CubeSats for NASA and U.S. educational institutions
Launch Window: TBA
Launch Site: Mahia Peninsula, New Zealand
Webcast: http://www.rocketlabusa.com/

Launch Vehicle: Long March 2D
Payloads: SaudiSat 5A & 5B Earth observation satellites
Launch Time: TBA
Launch Site: Jiuquan, China

TBA

Launch Vehicle: Pegasus XL
Payload: Ionospheric Connection Explorer (ICON) satellite
Launch Window: TBA
Launch Site: Cape Canaveral Air Force Station, Florida
Webcast: http://www.nasa.gov

  • 868686

    Rocket Lab is the perfect player to launch from Alcantara’s Base in Brazil.

  • duheagle

    RL’s first “farm team” launch site is going to be MARS at Wallops Island. But Alcantara would certainly be worthy of consideration for its second such site.

  • Andrew Tubbiolo

    Wow, they don’t evacuate the sheep around the pad…. Initial orbit looks good. It was a great launch.

  • savuporo

    Picture perfect launch with all payloads on orbit. “It’s really business time now” as they said on twitter. Hoping for a fast tempo in future !