SpaceX Reschedules Falcon 9 Launch

Falcon 9 lifts off from Vandenberg Air Force Base. (Credit: SpaceX)

SpaceX scrubbed the launch of a Falcon 9 rocket from Vandenberg Air Force Base in California on Wednesday due to excessive high altitude winds. It has been rescheduled for Thursday at 6:17 a.m. PST (9:17 a.m. EST/1417 GMT).

The primary payload is Hisdesat’s Paz satellite, which will provide radar imaging as well as ship tracking and weather data. The spacecraft was built by Airbus Defence and Space.

Elon Musk’s company will also launch two of its own satellites, Microsat-2a and Microsat-2b, that will demonstration technologies needed to provide global broadband services. The company plans to orbit 12,000 in two separate constellations for its Starlink broadband service.