Two Launches Set for Wednesday Along East Coast

Launch of Atlas V NRO satellite on June 20, 2012. (Credit: ULA)
Launch of Atlas V NRO satellite on June 20, 2012. (Credit: ULA)

Wednesday will be a great day for watching rocket launches on the East Coast.

ULA is set to launch the U.S. Air Force’s Advanced Extremely High Frequency-3 (AEHF-3) mission aboard an Atlas V rocket from the Cape Canaveral Air Force Station. The launch window opens at 3:04 am EDT/12:04 am PDT and closes two hours later. The weather forecast on Sunday continued to show a 60 percent chance of favorable weather conditions for launch.

Later that morning, Orbital Sciences Corp. is set to launch its Antares rocket and Cygnus freighter on a demonstration mission to the International Space Station from the Mid-Atlantic Regional Spaceport in Virginia. The launch window opens at 10:50 am EDT/7:50 am PT and closes 15 minutes later.