This Week on The Space Show

spaceshowlogo
This week on The Space Show with Dr. David Livingston:

1. Monday, August 12, 2013, 2-3:30 PM PDT (5-6:30 PM EDT, 4-5:30 PM CDT): We welcome RICK BOOZER, astrophysics researcher, public speaker and author, to the program to discuss his new book, “The Plundering of NASA: an Expose. How pork barrel politics harm American spaceflight leadership.” His website is at http://astromaven.blogspot.com.

2. Tuesday, August 13, 2013, 7-8:30 PM PDT (10-11:30 PM EDT, 9-10:30 PM CDT): We welcome back DR. HAYM BENAROYA of Rutgers University to update us on more lunar engineering and habitat options, a discussion on the latest effort to promote Mars first as the Moon is only a digression, and much more.

3. Friday, August 16, 2013, 9:30-11 AM PDT (11:30- 1 PM CDT, 12:30PM-2:00 PM EDT): I will be uploading interviews from the Small Sat Conference. The interviews will be available today with listener access as soon as they appear on the website and our blog.

4. WEBINAR: SPECIAL TIME: Sunday, August 18, 2013, 1-3 PM PDT (4-6 PM EDT, 3-5 PM CDT). The topic of this webinar is “Near Earth Object (NEO) impacts and what’s being done to deal with the threat. ” Our panel of experts includes DR. RAY WILLIAMSON of the Secure World Foundation,DR. MARK BOSLOUGH who is a Caltech-trained experimental and computational physicist whose research interests range from nuclear explosions to climate change, and DR. TIMOTHY SPAHR, Director, Minor Planet Center Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics. You can hear the audio as you would with any Space Show program. To view the live video stream, use our Space show UStream channel, www.ustream.tv/channel/the-space-show.