Sierra Nevada, Orbital Reps Join California Space Authority Board


Nine key space leaders have been elected to the Board of Directors of the California Space Authority, a statewide non-profit organization.  Of that total, four are new Board members while five are returning to the Board of Directors.  A three-year term of office will begin for the elected Board members starting January 2011.

The new Board members are Mark Pieczynski of Orbital Sciences Corp., Julie Van Kleeck of Aerojet, Ron Ramos of Pratt & Whitney Rocketdyne, and Lisa Matthews of Sierra Nevada Corp.  Returning Board members are Julie Sattler of Lockheed Martin, Al Hoffman of Boeing, Randall Garber of AT Kearney, Alan Jones of ATK and Tim Bennett of the International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers.

“We are pleased to announce the results of this exciting election for the Board of Directors.  The organization will benefit greatly from the expertise of these executives who represent key members of California space enterprise,” stated Executive Director Andrea Seastrand.  “It is noteworthy that Orbital Sciences will join the Board for the first time as that company increases its presence within the state of California.”

Board members are chosen to represent three regions of the state – northern, central and southern California.  Terms for elected members are three yeatrs, but are staggered to ensure continuity between elections.  The full Board consists of 27 members who represent a broad cross-section of California’s diverse space enterprise community.  In addition, state and federal government liaisons participate in the Board in a non-voting capacity.