Commercial Spaceflight Federation Gets Seat at NASA Table


Brett Alexander, executive director of the Commercial Spaceflight Federation, will chair up a new committee of the NASA Advisory Council, Space News reports. Alexander’s appointment is part of the creation of four new committees, including ones headed up by space investor Esther Dyson and former CNN anchor Miles O’Brien.

CSF is an industry association in Washington, DC that represents “20 commercial spaceflight developers, operators, and spaceports. Associate Members include suppliers supporting commercial spaceflight, with recent members including suppliers of training, medical, and life-support products and services.” The membership includes:

  • Aeroports de Catalunya
  • Armadillo Aerospace
  • Blue Origin
  • Environmental Tectonics Corporation (ETC) – NASTAR Center
  • Excalibur Almaz
  • Masten Space Systems
  • Mojave Spaceport
  • Oklahoma Space Industry Development Authority
  • Orbital Outfitters
  • Paragon Paragon Space Development Corporation
  • Scaled Composites
  • Sierra Nevada Corporation
  • Space Adventures
  • Space Florida
  • Spaceport America
  • SpaceX
  • Virgin Galactic
  • Wyle Laboratories
  • XCOR Aerospace
  • X PRIZE Foundation

Alexander will head up NAC’s new commercial spaceflight committee. NASA Administrator Charles Bolden also created three additional committees to advise the space agency. The committees include:

  • technology and innovation, chaired by investment guru Esther Dyson;
  • public outreach and education, headed up by former CNN space correspondent Miles O’Brien;
  • information technology and infrastructure, led by retired U.S. Air Force Lt. Gen. Al Edmonds.

Read the full story.