AIAA to Honor Challenge Center, Goddard Space Flight Center


The American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) is proud to announce the 2009 recipients of its most prestigious awards. Presentation of the awards will take place on May 13 at the AIAA Aerospace Spotlight Awards Gala, at the Ronald Reagan Building and International Trade Center, in Washington, D.C. This annual black-tie event recognizes the most influential and inspiring individuals in aerospace, whose outstanding contributions merit the highest accolades.


AIAA Goddard Astronautics Award – Michael Hamel, Lt. Gen. (retired), Air Force Space Command, Los Angeles Air Force Base, Calif.

AIAA Reed Aeronautics Award – Anatol Roshko, Professor (retired), California Institute of Technology, Pasadena, Calif.

AIAA Foundation Award for Excellence – The Challenger Center, Alexandria, Va. This award will be accepted by June Scobee Rodgers, founding director and founding chairman.

Elmer A. Sperry Medal – Apollo-Soyuz Docking Design and Flight Team. This award will be accepted by Glynn Lunney, director, Apollo-Soyuz Test Project; Aleksei Arkhipovich Leonov, commander, Soyuz; Thomas Stafford, commander, Apollo-Soyuz Test Project and Apollo; and the family of Professor Konstantin Bushuev, Apollo-Soyuz Test Project Technical Director for the former Soviet Union.

Daniel Guggenheim Medal – Earl Dowell, William Holland Hall Professor, Duke University, Durham, N.C.

AIAA International Cooperation Award –
John Lamar, Senior Research Scientist (retired), NASA Langley Research Center, Hampton, Va., and Dietrich Hummel, professor (retired), Technical University of Braunschweig, Germany.

AIAA Public Service Award – Duncan Copp, producer and director, DOX Productions, London, England.

AIAA Distinguished Service Award – David Knowlen, director, business affairs, The Boeing Company, Seattle, Wash.

AIAA Foundation Educator Achievement Awards – Richard Crawford, Middleton High School, Tampa, Fla.; Kenneth Huff, Mill Middle School, Williamsville, N.Y.; Susan Jukosky, Indian River School, Canaan, N.H.; Lynn Marie Kollar, North Ridge Elementary School, Moreno Valley, Calif., Rachael Lee Manzer, Suffield Public Schools, Suffield, Conn.; Jeri Ann Martin, Thomas L. Sims Middle School, Pace, Fla.; and Jessica van Son, Cascade Middle School, Longview, Wash.

AIAA National Capital Section Barry M. Goldwater Educator Award – NASA Goddard Space Flight Center, Greenbelt, Md.